Terminal 2 (Non-Schengen Flights)

malaga airport terminal 2

Flights from non-Schengen and non-EU countries

What is now the renovated Terminal 2 of Malaga airport was once its main terminal until the airport’s expansion in 2010.

Nowadays it is used for international flights from non-Schengen and non-EU countries.

Low-cost airlines such as Easyjet and Ryanair operate from the Terminal 2 for both arrivals and departures.

Security Checkpoint at Terminal 3

In general, all passengers on commercial flights must pass through Terminal 3, where the only security checkpoint is located.

However, the Terminal 2 checkpoints are still operational for use in the event of excessive terminal congestion.

As we said, Terminal 2 is mainly for non-Schengen and non-EU flights, so passport control is required to access it.

Shops & Bars

Malaga airport terminal 3. T3 Credit Depositphotos
Malaga airport Terminal 3. T3 Credit Depositphotos

The vast majority of shops, restaurants and bars are located in the area behind the security filter in the Terminal 3.

Therefore, if you want to have more options for shopping or food and drinks, we recommend you to walk around there before continuing towards T2 so you don’t have to go back.

Eating and shopping options in the T2 are limited to a café and a sandwich bar and a small duty-free shop.

Terminals 2 & 3 Malaga airport
Terminals 2 & 3 Malaga airport

From the security filter in T3 to T2 is about 400 metres.

If you required, you can request the free service for passengers with reduced mobility, who will take you to your boarding gate.

The Terminal 2 does not have an arrivals hall. Arriving passengers will pass through the Arrivals hall of terminal T3.

This is the official AENA Malaga-Costa del Sol airport map, where you can find all shops and services located at a glance.

Baggage collection

malaga airport
One-way filter to the baggage carousels at Malaga airport. Credit Depositphotos

On arrival and after passing through passport control, passengers will pass through a one-way filter to the baggage carousels.

Monitors will indicate the number of the baggage carousel where they can collect their baggage.

Some non-Schengen flights have baggage carousels in Terminal 3. Most probably you may have to walk back to Terminal 2 to collect your baggage.

malaga airport luggage collection
Malaga airport luggage collection. Credit Depositphotos

The arrivals hall is located between Terminal 2 and Terminal 3.

Find related information here about Terminal 1, Terminal 3, General Aviation Terminal and Cargo at Malaga airport.